+353 (0) 66 7121084


  • Announcement of Winners of the Lee Strand Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards 2012

    15th February 2013 | by Lee Strand

    Over two hundred and fifty people from across the county attended the Lee Strand Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards 2012 in the Ballyroe Height Hotel in Tralee on Friday, February 15th. The celebratory function was attended by the Assistant Commissioner Tony Quilter and his wife Rose. The event commenced with dinner and was followed by an individual presentation to the winners, which was accompanied with an inspiring citation of each winner’s achievements. Seventeen year old Edel O’Shea, from Killorglin was announced as the overall winner of the Lee Strand Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards 2012. Edel was presented with a specially commissioned crystal trophy and an overall winner’s certificate to mark her achievement. The four Certificate of Distinction Award Winners were: Michaela Heaslip, Tralee; Philip Lyons, Farranfore; Patrick McCarthy, Kilgarvin and Gerard Mulvihill, Listowel. The four disctinction winners each received a Children of Lir bronze trophy and a distinction award certificate to mark their achievement in this year’s awards. The Voluntary Group Achievement Award was presented to Teen Spirit who also performed on the night. A merit award certificate was also presented to each of the twenty Merit Award 2012 Winners: Majella Browne, Killorglin; Michael Cahill, Tralee; Ricky Clifford, Tralee Community College; Deirdre Donovan, Mercy Mounthawk, Tralee; Kyle Fitzgerald, Faha, Killarney; Jake Foley, Tralee; Stephen Griffin; Killarney; Joanne Kerins, Farranfore; Maude Ní Bhric Heslin agus Niamh Ní Mhuircheartaigh, Dingle; Shelly Ní Eidhin, Tralee; Adam O’Brien, Killarney; Keelyn O’Brien, Annascaul; Emma O’Connell, Killorglin; Niamh O’Connor, Ballymacelligott, Tralee; Shannon O’Hanlon, Listowel; Aoife O’Leary, Cordal, Castleisland; Gemma O’Mahony, Ballyhar; Katie O’Sullivan, Tralee; Niamh Sheehan, Farranfore; and Donal Walsh, Blennerville, Tralee. Brendan Walsh, Chairperson, Lee Strand commented “Lee Strand is delighted once again to support the Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards. The awards provide a great opportunity to celebrate the efforts of the young people of Kerry and the voluntary organisations within our community. Well done to all of the winners they are very worthy recipients.” Chief Superintendent Pat Sullivan “An Garda Siochana believes that young people who carry out voluntary work in the community should be acknowledged and we are delighted to have an opportunity to do so once again this year. The nominations for the 2012 awards were particularly impressive and reflect favourably on the youth of Kerry today. This is the 15th year of the Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards and from the beginning Lee Strand Milk has been a loyal and generous supporter and I publicly thank them for that. I want to congratulate all award winners and pay tribute to the parents, teachers and the many voluntary organisations in Kerry which encourage and facilitate young people to undertake such worthwhile work in the community.”