+353 (0) 66 7121084


  • Kerry’s Youth Celebrated at the Lee Strand/Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards 2014

    January 2015 | by Lee Strand

    Over two hundred and fifty people from across the county attended the Lee Strand/Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards 2014 in the Ballyroe Heights Hotel in Tralee on Friday, January 16th. The celebration commenced with dinner and was followed by an individual presentation of twenty seven awards, accompanied with an inspiring citation of each winner’s achievements. Twenty one Merit Awards, four Distinction Awards, the Voluntary Group Award and the Overall Winner Award were presented on the night. 16 year old Seán Kelliher, from Fossa, Killarney was announced as the Overall Winner of the Lee Strand Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards 2014. Seán was presented with a specially commissioned crystal trophy and the Overall Winner Certificate to mark his achievement. Seán was recognised for his numerous volunteering achievements within the local community. Sean has raised funds for charities and is an active member of the Student Music Department in Killarney Community College. Sean who is also a member of the school choir, teaches music to his fellow students and also helps Junior and Leaving Certificate students with their practical state exams. Sean also shares his musical talent with the local community and regularly plays traditional Irish music at the Kerry Parents & Friends Association, St Mary’s of the Angels Beaufort and entertains residents and patients at St Columbanus in Killarney. Sean also won Gold at the World Fleadh Cheoil in Derry two years ago. The four Distinction Award Winners were: Patriz Brosnan, Abbeydorney; Eimear Crowley, Templenoe; Helen Dowling, Ballyduff and Luke Scollard, Scartaglin. The four distinction winners each received a Children of Lir bronze trophy and a Distinction Award Certificate to mark their achievement in this year’s awards. The Voluntary Group Achievement Award 2014 was presented to the Killarney No Name Club. A Merit Award Certificate was also presented to each of the twenty one Merit Award 2014 Winners: Maura Adams, Tralee; Padraig Blanchfield, Currow; Rebecca Donovan, Tralee; Seán Dowling & Gavin Connolly, Tralee; Paulina Filip, Killarney; Caitríona Fitzmaurice, Listowel; Aoife Kissane, Lixnaw; Jordan Lee, Killarney; Michelle Lynch, Kielduff, Tralee; Lúcás Mac Giolla Earnáin, Dingle & Kate Ní Laoithe, Ballyferriter; Rachel Mc Gowan, Killarney; Liam Morris, Killarney; DJ Murphy, Glenflesk; Rebecca Murphy, Duagh; Kiara Naylor, Killorglin; Elysha Ní Chúlain, Coláiste Íde; Eoghan Ó’Beaglaoich, Baile Na nGall; Conor O’Donoghue, Tralee; Caoimhe O’Sullivan, Waterville; Cormac Sertutxa, Castlemaine; Aoife Sugrue & Nicola O’Sullivan, Valentia. Brendan Walsh, Chairperson, Lee Strand commented “Lee Strand is delighted to support the Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards for 17 years. It is a fantastic celebration of the outstanding achievements of our youth and the voluntary organisations within our community.” Chief Superintendent Pat Sullivan “An Garda Siochana are once again delighted this year to partner with Lee Strand in one the highlights of the social calendar in Kerry. Lee Strand in association with An Garda Siochana have always been proactive in acknowledging and identifying the positive work by young people and voluntary groups to enhance community life in Kerry.”